Astronomy Lectures for FREE

Astronomy has been lately like a drug on me. So I have decided that I should study it (though at my own pace) but study it seriously. So I was looking up for astronomy lectures and I stumbled upon this MichiganTech University lectures on astronomy for first year freshers completely free of charge. Astronomy is considered as an expensive hobby per se…..but much to my astonishment much of astronomy stuff  could be acquired on the web for completely FREE.

So I am enrolling myself for this study and perhaps sit for an exam too later….I can’t say about that. But I think giving some of my time to learning something fascinating is worthwhile.

And though there are calculations and stuff requiring mental exercise and quite of reading yet I am jumping on this. By the way anyone interested to join the bandwagon, just hop on.

So, just to give a quick intro of what’s it’s all about.

Introduction

“Posted in this forum are the lectures of a free introductory astronomy course as taught by me, APOD co-editor and university professor Robert Nemiroff, at Michigan Technological University in the fall of 2008. Each lecture of the class is included here, one lecture per thread. Each lecture thread should contain at least one video lecture and one Powerpoint file containing the slides that I used. I was proud that I used no textbook for this class but instead relied on strong Wikipedia articles. This made the class especially Internet friendly and particularly conducive to this type of online forum. Many students saw these exact lectures in Fall 2008, took online quizzes not available here, and received college credit at Michigan Tech.

General astronomy questions, no matter how basic, can be asked in the greater Asterisk forums. Please do not send email to the address shown in the video. Unfortunately, I expect to move on to other projects and would like this project to run autonomously. I therefore ask that if someone knows the answer to an asked question, please go right ahead and answer that question. Please do not wait for me to answer. On occasion, however, I do peruse The Asterisk’s forums.

Next, I expect that I have made several mistakes. I cannot correct the video, but please do point these out in The Asterisk forums so that future online students get the best information possible. Past that, the general rules for posting on The Asterisk bulletin board still apply as much as reasonably possible. These rules can be summed up as “be polite.”

Over the first few months of 2010, this thread and this very post may be edited without notice for clarity and technology upgrades. If you yourself have suggestions as to how to make this free online course better or more accessible, please post that on the general discussion (Open Space) forum of The Asterisk.

– Robert Nemiroff (RJN)”

( So for any further questions or queries just throw yourself to the forum, not me either) Yeah but we can discuss.

Pros:

  • The lectures are being given by Robert Nemiroff
  • Lectures are all completely free.
  • You aren’t required to buy books. Reference material would be from Wikipedia.
  • Lecture notes are not transcribed.
  • Lectures are online.
  • Lectures are accompanied by a power point slide.
  • There’s a catch: Apod (Astronomy Pictures of the day would be used to explain the mysteries of the universe.  They start from September 1rst 2008.

Cons:

  • There are few mistakes which can be overlooked.
  • If you want to sit for an exam you have to pay MichiganTecH. I don’t know. It doesn’t bother me now.
  • Lecture notes are not transcribed.

So here we start

I hope I am not infringing any rights by posting this lecture here. I really didn’t get in contact with the lecturer. Nevertheless I would like to thank him for this stuff.

Lecture 01: A Grand Tour of the Universe

The lecture video is embedded below but also available here in MP4 format.
Additionally, slides used in the lecture are embedded below but also are available here in Powerpoint format.
Questions after the lecture? Please ask them in here.

The Lecture.

Wikipedia entries:

Universe
Electromagnetic spectrum
Light year

About heavenswithlamps

I am an educator by day and a casual Star gazer by night. I read a lot, surf a lot, cycle at times, like trekking, learning swimming, and philosophize at times. Life = Be Cooool!

Posted on April 10, 2012, in Astronomers Past & Present, Astronomy Lectures, Freebies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Great resource. Thnx for sharing! 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on ABC Astronomy and commented:
    Thanks to Heavens With Lamps for a great resource 🙂

  3. Thanks for this! It’s another awesome example of their being no shortage of free and easily accessible information and learning. All that is required is the want to do so. Where there is a want, there is ALWAYS a way. Money, or the lack there of, is never an excuse for the lack of education. This is also why I’m a huge supporter of public libraries. Great post!

  1. Pingback: Free Lecture 02: Universe Scale, and Light 1 « Heavens With Lamps

  2. Pingback: The Very Inspiring Blogger Award « …things I LOVE!

  3. Pingback: Free Lecture 03: Universe Scale, and Light II « Heavens With Lamps

Leave a Reply

