You want to buy a telescope?

One night it happened to me that yeah I have to buy a telescope so that I could have a look at the sky. It would be something that my children could use and see  a bit through the night sky. Perhaps this sudden  rage to buy happened by viewing  shot from the films where the there is a scene of a child viewing through a telescope and then the father calls him to sleep , I don’t remember the film though.Kinda want a help on that though.

So back to the subject I had to buy a telescope but  where to start about………(As I said previously said this blog is an absolute nerds guide to the universe. As such I googled a bit on telescope ( as I knew it is called a telescope) but again, it was a dead-end.

How can someone buy a telescope when one has not the least info on what to buy.

So, I don’t know how but it came up to me that telescope using and playing through should be a hobby for some people out there, obviously I won’t go to an astronomer to ask which telescope to buy , especially when I had spared about  Rs 1500 (about $50) to buy a toy for me and the children.

I am a heavy user of YouTube so first of all I youtubed  “Telescope”  in the Search block. And obviously  came up with Expertvillage to give me some ideas on what telescope to buy. It is somewhat there or perhaps somewhere else  that I learned about the word AMATEUR ASTRONOMY.

So I googled  “AMATEUR ASTRONOMY” and I got a few titles to choose.  And it is normal psychology to choose among the best and in my opinion I got to choose the best of all the amateur astronomy websites  in the world.  It is usual to see amateur astronomy links highlighted on the first google page but perhaps Rocket Roberts is the best of amateur astronomers that his oldy website is still appearing on the google page.

amateur astronomy search

Nevertheless to mention that google has saved a lot of people.

So google saved my day or the whole night cause I spent the whole night till 8:00 in the morning perusing  everything on Rocket Roberts website about telescopes.

About heavenswithlamps

I am an educator by day and a casual Star gazer by night. I read a lot, surf a lot, cycle at times, like trekking, learning swimming, and philosophize at times. Life = Be Cooool!

Posted on February 25, 2012, in Buying 1rst Telescope and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

